And… EXIT!

So, it’s come to this. In the midst of quarrels about how to contribute to plans for world peace, stop terrorism and get water to those around the world that need it, people are debating about the most effective Exit sign.

The big red word, the little green man.

We’ve seen the huge red word lighting the exits in movie theaters for a while now, and I don’t know about you, but I’ve been fine! I see red, and I read EXIT, and I know what to do in case of an emergency. I’m not sticking around to smell smoke. But apparently, that’s not nearly enough. People need to see a man that represents themselves, in action. At least, that’s what people in the international sphere think.

People think our sign is stupid, actually. It’s too simple, too intolerant of people who don’t know english and who don’t understand what red means in the context of our culture. (It is a bit confusing though, if you think about it. Red DOES mean stop.)

This new green man makes sense, experts say. Green is the color of safety! Plus, it’s a pictogram!

Run! I'm green, so that means go! Now!

I don’t know – I just thought it was a bit hilarious that this was even being discussed. If you’re interested in traffic signs, though check out this slide show :).

Triangles, Squares, Hexagons, Oh my!

The debate ensues, but maybe in time we’ll all know where to go, and what we’re doing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment